​​​​​​​Board and Committees

​​​​​​​Board Chair: - Anna Galvan

Anna Galvan is known for her extensive career in netball as a player from 1996 until 2012. Anna is Silver Fern #124 and played in the team from 2000 – 2002, including the Manchester Commonwealth Games. Anna was part of the semi-professional era as a player for the Canterbury Flames, Southern Sting and Tactix teams and as a member of the Canterbury netball team for over 15 years, including time as Captain. Anna has held multiple coaching positions, including Junior and Secondary School teams, age-group Christchurch teams, the Tactix National Netball League team, as Apprentice Coach and the Defensive coach for the Tactix team. She has also coached at Netball New Zealand Development Camp and as part of the New Zealand U21 Programme.

Anna has held several governance roles since 2016, including the last three as Chair of the Christchurch Netball Centre Board. She is a member of the Institute of Directors, and is also on the Advisory Board at the University of Canterbury Students' Association, the Tactix Netball Team Steering Committee, and is a current director of Netsal Sports Centre.

Anna works as a General Manager at Te Hono  – a partnership between the leaders of Aotearoa New Zealand’s food and fibre sector companies, iwi and government agencies. Te Hono is leading the charge to transform the way the sector operates from being predominantly focused on export volume under a commodity-based trading model to a value-based model producing and exporting products of higher consumer value whilst acknowledging the precious nature of the resources make this possible.

​​​​​​Board Member: - Warren Poh

Appointed to the Board in 2020.

Warren has 13 years professional and governance experience in a variety of different roles and sectors, including Canterbury Rugby League, University Sport New Zealand and Canterbury Hockey Association.
His employment roles have incorporated business leadership, change management, strategic planning, business development and business opportunity creation. He currently works for a leading engineering global consultancy specialising in engineering, science and design.

Warren has played a little bit of netball in the past, but mostly enjoys watching his young daughter play and supporting his wife who coaches the team.

Board Member: - Emma Johns

Elected to the Board in 2021.
Emma Johns was elected to the Board in 2021 as way of connecting with the Christchurch community and combining her passion for sports and netball with her business, strategic and commercial capabilities. 
By day, Emma is a Partner in Consulting at Deloitte in Christchurch where she works to solve business and digital problems for clients across the country. Her skills in strategy, programme and project delivery, market analysis and procurement, governance, reviews, business case & funding analysis, and business operating models are useful to our Board and current strategy.
Beyond her Deloitte role, Emma brings governance experience as the Deputy Chair on the Tennis Canterbury Board, Wilding Park Foundation Board member and is a member of the Institute of Directors. 
​​​​​​​Emma continues to enjoy her netball as a current member of the St. Nicholas’ Premier A Netball team. Outside of her passion for netball, Emma is a keen runner and avid traveller with her family. 

Board Member: - Leonie Rae
Co-opted to the Board in 2021.
Leonie has extensive experience within a local council environment. She has experience in governance, leadership and management of projects and operations, financial and long-term strategic planning, employee engagement, leading the strategic direction and implementing change programmes. She has significant experience in commercial building consents and approvals and has been a member of a number of professional associations. One of her career highlights is winning an ALGIM Leadership Award.

Board Member: - Sophia Thompson (née Fenwick)
Appointed to the Board in 2022
Sophia is well known to the Centre and members as a player. Formerly she has played for Tactix (and Pulse) but more recently for Kereru Netball Club, having also played for other clubs since high school.

While she is currently on maternity leave, expecting her first child in November 2022, Sophia, a Chartered Accountant and former auditor, is employed as National Finance Manager, managing cash flow, fund applications, loans and invoicing within a fast-growing construction business. She has a desire to make a difference by challenging the status quo and wants to give back to her netball community having also been a player representative for Netball Mainland within the NZ Netball Players Association.

Board Member: - Wayne Hawker
Elected to the Board in 2022
Wayne has been involved in netball for almost 23 years with the Cashmere Netball Club. He has previously served on the Board during the time it transitioned into the model of Governance/ Management it currently operates under. He also has 20 years experience on a School Board of Trustees. He has received both volunteer and service awards from CNC, the Volunteer Administrator of the Year Award in 2017 from Netball New Zealand and in 2012 won a Kiwibank Community Volunteer Award as part of the New Zealander of Year Awards. He is passionate to continue working with CNC to ensure we are delivering a competition and services that best meets the needs for all.


Vacancies now exist on the following Committees:

  • Competitions
  • Junior Netball Development

For more information and to make a nomination: click here.

Competitions Committee​​​​​​​
Theresa Smith, Lee McKenzie (Convenor), Brenda Bickerstaff, Karen Jamieson, Helen Belcher, Corrina Ruki (co-opted) (Megan McLay).

The Competitions Committee organises all grading of teams, sources volunteer graders, office assistants, game card checkers and works alongside the Draws Manager to ensure a Draw is produced for each round of games and in doing this endeavours to obtain quality games for all teams entered from Premier down to Under 12 grades. The Committee is willing to hear of new ideas, thoughts and proposals on improving the competition at all levels. 

Game Development (including Representative) Committee
Adrianne Hayes (Convenor), Margaret Western, Anna Kennedy, Keely Kira, Lou Milne, Chelsea Kennedy (Kelly Bodger).

​​​​​​​Draws Manager
Rhonda Blair

Game Officials Committee (including Bench Officials)
Rebecca Reside, Vicki Harrington (Convenor), Aleisha Whitehead, Ruth Keir, Maree Morel, Shelly Swain, David Pala’amo (co-opted) (Rhonda Blair).

Awards Committee
Rowena Clancy (Convenor), Jan Hefford, Lee McKenzie, Lesley Dick.

​​​​​​Junior Game Development
Landie Blair, Anne-Marie Wilson, Natasha Austin, Pam Ormandy, Carrie Eade (Sara Norton).

Legacy Committee
Margaret Marsh, Wendy Lynch, Patsy Tainui, Lyn Miles.

Anna Galvan

Emma Johns

Sophia Thompson

Warren Poh

Leonie Rae

Wayne Hawker